Bayer Leverkusen
Bayern Munich
6:30 AM UTC
Game Details
Eintracht Frankfurt
6:30 AM UTC
Game Details
Fortuna Düsseldorf
TSG Hoffenheim
6:30 AM UTC
Game Details
RB Leipzig
SC Paderborn 07
6:30 AM UTC
Game Details
Borussia Dortmund
Hertha Berlin
9:30 AM UTC
Game Details

Arsenal's Henrikh Mkhitaryan wins seventh straight Armenian Player of Year award

Henrikh Mkhitaryan has been named Armenia's Footballer of the Year for a seventh time in succession.

Arsenal midfielder Mkhitaryan won the vote by a huge margin, collecting 190 points, with second-placed Tigran Barseghyan, who plays in the Macedonian league, getting 35.

"It is a great honour because it means you've achieved something," the official Arsenal website reported him as saying.

"You've accomplished something important for the country and your followers. I am very happy to be the children's hero.

8th🏆⚽️ Armenia Footballer of the Year #armenia @armenian_ff #heno

A post shared by Henrikh Mkhitaryan (@micki_taryan) on

"I was a kid too, so I know what those feelings are. I too had heroes, I wanted to be like some football player or a hero."

Former Borussia Dortmund and Manchester United player Mkhitaryan also posted a photo on Instagram of him collecting the award.

It is the eighth time in nine years that Mkhitaryan has won the award, with Karlen Mkrtchyan taking it in 2010.

Mattias is ESPN FC's Arsenal correspondent. Follow him on Twitter: @MattiasKaren.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.